Hot 100 First-Timers: Shoreline Mafia’s OhGeesy & Fenix Flexin Debut With Comeback Single ‘Heat Stick’

Shoreline Mafia, the Los Angeles-based hip-hop act comprising OhGeesy and Fenix Flexin, banks its first career Billboard chart hit with “Heat Stick.”

Billed as by Shoreline Mafia Presents OhGeesy & Fenix Flexin, the song debuts at No. 98 on the Billboard Hot 100 dated June 1 almost entirely from its streaming sum: 6.5 million official U.S. streams May 17-23 (up 31%), according to Luminate. The track, released May 10 on Atlantic Records, also debuts at No. 25 on Hot Rap Songs and jumps 42-29 in its second week on Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.

Shoreline Mafia originally formed as a quartet in 2016, comprising OhGeesy, Fenix Flexin, Master Kato and Rob Vicious. The group split after releasing its debut studio album, Mafia Bidness, in 2020 as all four artists pursued solo careers. Earlier this month, OhGeesy and Fenix Flexin reunited with “Heat Stick” under the Shoreline Mafia name—it marks the first release for the act, now a duo, in four years.

Shoreline Mafia reached Billboard

’s charts twice before “Heat Stick.” Its EP Party Pack, Vol. 2 hit No. 32 on Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and No. 61 on the Billboard 200 in September 2019 and Mafia Bidness reached No. 19 on Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and No. 27 on the Billboard 200 in August 2020.

After the group went on hiatus, OhGeesy’s debut solo LP Geezyworld (released in 2021 via Atlantic) topped the Heatseekers Albums chart and reached No. 102 on the Billboard 200. Its follow-up Geezyworld 2 peaked at No. 2 on Heatseekers Albums in 2023. The set’s breakout single “Geekaleek,” featuring Cash Kidd/BIA (which samples Petey Pablo’s 2004 Hot 100 top 10 “Freek-a-Leek”), hit No. 25 on Rap Airplay and No. 44 on R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay in December 2023.

OhGeesy has released one other solo project: Tropies, with Berner, in December.

As for Fenix Flexin, the rapper released four solo projects while Shoreline Mafia was inactive: Fenix Flexin Vol. 1 (2021), Fenix Flexin Vol. 2 (2022), Fenix Flexin Vol. 3 (2023) and Back Flexin (May 24). The opening track on the new album is another collab with OhGeesy, “Pick N Roll.”

Shoreline Mafia signed to Atlantic in 2018. OhGeesy told Billboard at the time, “Besides growing up and always wanting to be apart of a major label, when it finally came time to it, I knew Atlantic was the best move because of the facts behind it. It’s simple. Look at their roster. Everybody is winning and they know how to market music in a way that I feel is better than any other label.”

Discover more from LockedIN Magazine

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.