Entering The Baseball Hall of Fame 2018

Chipper Jones, Vladimir Guerrero, Jim Thome and Trevor Hoffman were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame

The Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. is set for a huge ceremony this coming July. The Veterans Committee already elected Tigers greats Jack Morris and Alan Trammell to join the 2018 Hall class and the BBWAA has added four more names to the list on Wednesday night: Braves third baseman Chipper Jones, Indians, first baseman/designated hitter Jim Thome, Expos/Angels, outfielder Vladimir Guerrero and Padres closer Trevor Hoffman.

Jones and Thome were both elected in their first year of eligibility. This is the fourth time that the Baseball Writers’ Association of America has elected four players in a year (1947, 1955, 2015).

The four will join veterans committee inductees Jack Morris and Alan Trammell in entering the Hall of Fame on July 29 in Cooperstown, New York.


Here’s the breakdown of voting percentages (there were 422 ballots). Seventy-five percent gains entry and more than five percent keeps a player on the ballot for next year:

Jones, 97.2
Guerrero, 92.9
Thome, 89.9
Hoffman, 79.9

Edgar Martinez, 70.4
Mike Mussina, 63.5
Roger Clemens, 57.3
Barry Bonds, 56.4
Curt Schilling, 51.2
Omar Vizquel, 37
Larry Walker, 34.1
Fred McGriff, 23.2
Manny Ramirez, 22
Jeff Kent, 14.5
Gary Sheffield, 11.1
Billy Wagner, 11.1
Scott Rolen, 10.2
Sammy Sosa, 7.8
Andruw Jones, 7.2

Jamie Moyer, 2.4
Johan Santana, 2.4
Johnny Damon, 1.9
Hideki Matsui, 0.9
Chris Carpenter, 0.5
Kerry Wood, 0.5
Livan Hernandez, 0.2
Carlos Lee, 0.2

Skip to toolbar